The Coinciding Nature of Happiness and Sadness

The way life works is mind-boggling and unpredictable. Little conversations that end up changing your life around, that end up moving you towards a brand new path. People who are extremely significant, whose words and support give you confidence to take the new steps needed. Chance encounters sometimes lead to strong foundations, relations.There are people that become the leading reason you find your passion. Those who make your life better by just having played any small role in it. People who you could never possibly thank as much as thanks is due; for the adventures, the inspiration, the life changers they brought to you.
Some are fortunate to find an individual who did all of the above for them. I have found more than one who have done that for me, but there is one in particular that I wish I never had to say goodbye to. I wish that this individual could be a part of my life forever, but at least I know that this person will be part of me and my dreams for as long as my dreams last. I would have never known what my passions were without this one’s support, I can never express enough of my gratitude.I am so thankful to have the small group of friends who I know care enough to listen and help me through….well through anything really. I am so blessed because I know these type of people do not come often. The type who really understand or try to understand.
 
I often resort to quotes and music when I am looking for inspiration and what I could easily relate to. Here is a noteworthy quote from Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower –
“I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”
I like this because I feel it fits right into my life. I am happy with where I am going, I am very enthusiastic about it. I love everything about my job, my new place, and some of my new friends are amazing. But…I am still sad. It is troublesome to have to let go of a huge part of my life, it will take time. So no matter how much new happiness there is in my life, I still have this sadness that I will grow to overcome and get stronger from.
I thought it might be neat to have a soundtrack to my 26th year to really summarize all my feelings and thoughts in this year of my life. The following songs really do that for me:
 
 YEAR 26
  1. Dave Matthews Band – So Much to Say
  2. Cake – Hem of your Garment
  3. Lenka – The Show
  4. John Mayer – Half of My Heart
  5. Linkin’ Park – Waiting for the End
  6. Alex Clare – Too Close
  7. Hoobastank – The Reason
  8. James Morrison – Broken Strings
  9. Mumford and Sons – Awake My Soul
  10. N.E.R.D. – Sooner or Later
  11. B.O.B. and Taylor Swift – Both of Us
  12. Ben Folds – You Don’t Know Me
  13. Jason Mraz – Sunshine Song
  14. Coldplay – Lost
  15. Dave Barnes – Little Lies
  16. Jason Mraz – Beautiful Mess
  17. Childish Gambino – Heartbeat
  18. Jason Mraz – I Won’t Give Up
  19. Sara Bareilles – Between the Lines
  20. Sara Bareilles – Gravity
  21. Eric Hutchinson – Food Chain
  22. Sara Bareilles – Breathe Again
  23. Eric Hutchinson – OK, It’s Alright with Me
  24. Barenaked Ladies – Call and Answer
  25. Fleetwood Mac – Landslide
  26. Blind Melon – No Rain

BONUS TRACKS

  1. Jason Mraz – Living in the Moment
  2. India Arie – There’s Hope
  3. Matisyahu – Jerusalem
  4. Sara Bareilles – Uncharted
  5. Tyrone Wells – And the Birds Sing
  6. Mumford and Sons – I Will Wait
  7. Muse – Madness
My 26th year in the world has been so insane. Filled with extreme downs and surprising ups. I’m ready for the challenges in my 27th year of life. Bring it on! First birthday since I was a kid that this significant person, mentioned earlier, will not be a part of.
Leave a Reply

